MCP Tops Parliamentary Committees: House Adjourns Sine Die

The opposition Malawi Congress Party (MCP) has secured most of the Parliamentary committees’ chairmanship.

On Friday 12th July, Parliament elected Chairpersons and Vice Chairperson from with MCP dominating the elections. The ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) also scoped some.

Meanwhile, the House has adjourned sine die with Leader of government Kondwani Nankhumwa accusing MCP members of hypocrisy in regards to their conduct last month when they walked out on President Peter Mutharika during his State of National Address in Parliament.  

Nankhumwa speaking in Parliament

Here are the committees:

1. Budget and Finance

Chairperson — Hon. Sosten Gwengwe (Lilongwe Msozi North)

Vice — Hon. Idrissa Pongolani Kazembe (Mangochi Lutende)

2. Legal Affairs

Chairperson — Hon Kezzie Msukwa (Chitipa East)

Vice – Nullified, election to take place later

3. Public Accounts

Chairperson – Hon. Ken Kandodo (Kasungu Central)

Vice – Hon. Noah Chimpeni (Nkhatabay South East)

Kandodo now chairs Public Accounts

4. Public Appointments

Chairperson – Hon.Collins Kajawa (Lilongwe Mpenu Nkhoma)

Vice – Hon. Rachel Mazombwe (Mchinji North)

5. Health Committee

Chairperson — Hon. Dr Matthews Ngwale (Chiradzulu West)

Vice — Hon. Eurita Ntiza Valeta (Nsanje South West)

Gwengwe one of the elected chairpersons

6. Local Authorities and Rural Development

Chairperson — Horace Chipuwa (Lilongwe Mapuyu North)

Vice — Hon. Monica Chang’anamuno (Lilongwe North)

7. Agriculture and Irrigation

Chairperson — Hon. Sameer Suleman (Blantyre City South East)

Vice — Hon. Ulemu Chilapondwa (Ntchisi South)

8. Government Assurances

Chairperson — Hon. Jephter Mwale (Mchinji Central)

Vice — Hon. Gerald Phiri (Salima Central)

9. HIV/AIDS and Nutrition

Chairperson — Hon. Deus Gumba Banda (Mchinji South West)

Vice — Hon. Bertha Ndebele (Balaka West)

10. Natural Resources and Climate Change

Chairperson — Hon Werani Chilenga (Chitipa South)

Vice — Hon Halima Daudi (Dowa South East)

Zulu also elected chairperson

11. Education, Science and Technology:

Chairperson — Hon. Brainax Kaise (Nkhotakota South)

Vice — Hon. Jacqueline Chikuta (Ntchisi North)

12. International Relations

Chairperson — Hon. Patrick Bandawe (Dedza East)

Vice — Hon. Jean Sendeza (Lilongwe South West)

13. Industry, Trade and Tourism

Chairperson — Hon. Simplex Chithyola Banda (Kasungu South)

Vice — Hon. Thoko Tembo (Neno North)

14. Social and Community Affairs

Chairperson – Hon. Savel Kafwafwa (Dedza North)

Vice Chairperson — Hon. Kondwani Benard Chitekwe (Ntchisi East)

15. Media, Information and Communications

Chairperson – Hon. McNice Aboo Naliwa (Zomba Nsondole)

Vice — Hon Susan Dossi (Chikhwawa West)

16. Women’s Caucus

Chairperson — Hon. Lonnie Chijere Phiri (Zomba Chingale)

Vice — Hon. Susan Ndalama (Blantyre Rural East)

17. Commissions, Statutory Corporations and State Enterprises

Chairperson — Hon. Jason Isaac Kaneka (Blantyre West)

Vice — Hon. Wezzie Gondwe (Mzimba East)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: