BT Mayorship: Ndipo Re-Elected City Chief

Councilor Wild Ndipo of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has been re-elected as Mayor of Blantyre City. Ndipo amassed 20 of the 29 votes to secure the re-election in polls held on Friday at the Blantyre City Council offices.

 Ndipo saw off Councilor Gertrude Chiwamba who got five votes and Councilor Eric Mofolo who scooped four votes.

Another DPP councilor Joseph Makwinja was re-elected Deputy Mayor of the city. Makwinja got 12 votes to beat Jomo Osman who had 10 votes, Funny Kanojerera who got four votes and Thokozani Phekani who managed three votes.

Six Members of Parliament and 23 Councilors voted during the polls.

United Transformation Movement (UTM) councilor, Leonard Chimbanga pulled out of the race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: